The Academic Council consists of all the Heads of Departments plus two faculty representatives elected by the faculty – one each from the basic science and clinical departments – who are not Department Chairmen. The Associate Deans serve on the Academic Council. The post of Associate Dean and Department Chairman cannot be held simultaneously. The Dean acts as Chairman of the Academic Council.


Professor Dr. Umar Farooq


Chairpersons of Basic Department

Professor Dr. Muhammad Ashfaq (Department of Anatomy)

Professor Dr. Nuzhat Raza (Department of Physiology)

Professor Dr. Noreen Sultan (Department of Biochemistry)

Professor Dr. Irum Abbas (Department of Dentistry)

Professor Dr. Naeema Afzal (Department of Pathology)

Professor Dr. Nighat Seema (Department of Forensic Medicine)

Professor Dr. Salim Wazir (Department of Community Medicine)

Professor Dr. Sumbal Tariq (Department of Physiology)

Chairpersons of Clinical Department

Professor Dr. Rehan Ahmad (Chairperson General Medicine)

Professor Dr. Khalid Khan (Chairperson General Surgery)

Professor Dr. Tahir Saeed Siddiqui (Head of Department Paediatrics)

Professor Dr. Ashfaq Ali Shah (Chairperson Ophthalmology

Professor Dr. Muhammad Asif (Chairperson Otorhinolaryngology)

Professor Dr. Rubina Bashir (Chairperson Obs/Gynae)

Associate Deans

(Vice Dean)

(Associate Dean – Postgraduate)

(Associate Dean – Research)

(Associate Dean – Undergraduate)

Elected Members

Professor Dr. Mukhtar Ahmad